Parent Education Classes

If you have a domestic relations case involving children under 18 years old, whether the case is for dissolution of marriage or allocation of parental responsibilities, in El Paso or Teller Counties, then you and the other parent will be required to attend a two-hour Parent Education Class to learn about the divorce process, how best to parent your children through a divorce, and the effects of divorce on your children. These classes are formally called the CFIT Seminar, for Children and Families in Transition. If you do not live within a reasonable distance of Colorado Springs, yet your case is pending in Colorado Springs, you may be able to take a different course elsewhere, so long as the class is approved by the Court. Also, if your cases is filed in another Colorado county, chances are that you will have to take a parent education class approved by your jurisdiction. Check with the court clerk in your county for more information.

CFIT classes are designed to teach ways to minimize the effect of your divorce on the children.

Classes for both El Paso and Teller Counties are held in Colorado Springs, in the jury assembly room, Room W113, of the El Paso County Courthouse, 270 South Tejon. The courses are held three times per month, from 5:30 p.m. to 7:30 p.m. on the second and fourth Wednesdays of each month, and from noon to 2:00 p.m. on the third Friday of each month. Reservations are not required, but you should arrive early enough to find parking, go through building security, and locate the classroom in time to register. If you arrive more than 10 minutes late, you will not receive credit. Bring your case number to make sure you get proper credit.

Please note that you are not permitted to bring children with you to the parenting seminar. For the Friday class only, babysitting is available through Court Care; however, you must call ahead and make a reservation for your children. The Court Care office may be reached at (719) 442-1972.

If your case is filed in El Paso or Teller Counties, there is no extra charge to attend the CFIT Seminar, as a fee is charged as part of your filing fees. However, if you are attending the Colorado Springs class for a case filed outside of El Paso or Teller Counties, then you will have to pay a fee of $25.00 to obtain credit.

The class consists of three videos: the first film describes the court process, including the terms and concepts involved in the allocation of parental responsibilities; the second video describes co-parenting; and the third details the effects of divorce on children. This is a valuable seminar: you will learn important information that will help you make your divorce or separation as easy as possible for your children.

If you have children are considering divorce or a suit for the allocation of parental responsibilities, call the Law Office of Kirk Garner today to discuss your legal rights and remedies.